School effectiveness


Statutory guidance

National curriculum in England: citizenship programmes of study for key stages 3 to 4 (GOV.UK)

Guidance from the Association for Citizenship Teaching

Assessment and reporting

ACT website Association for citizenship teaching
Assessment arrangements for citizenship.

Schools should continue to assess and record pupil attainment in citizenship at the end of key stage 3. This means assessment should be a planned part of citizenship teaching and learning and pupils should receive regular feedback on how they are doing in the subject.

Schools should also provide a brief account of each individual child’s attainment in annual reports to parents for all pupils aged 11 to 16. Download the full 2013 teacher assessment and reporting arrangements (pdf).

At key stage 4 many schools use the GCSE Citizenship Studies qualification to recognise pupil attainment and achievements.

Further guidance on assessment in relation to the revised National Curriculum will be available from ACT soon.

About citizenship education

Citizenship education aims to ensure that students:

  • Know their rights and responsibilities
  • Are able to analyse and discuss significant issues
  • Come to an understanding of how society works
  • Begin to play an active role in society.

An effective citizenship offer in schools will support children and young people to become active, informed and responsible citizens, benefiting young people by:

  • Developing self confidence
  • Giving them a voice
  • Enabling them to make a positive contribution.

For schools, it helps to enhance motivation and a sense of responsibility. It helps to improve the relationship that young people have with each other, with staff in the school and with people in the surrounding community. Citizenship education also helps schools to meet the duty to promote community cohesion.

Citizenship is part of a non-statutory framework at key stages 1 and 2, and an important part of Post 16 education and training; it remains a compulsory national curriculum subject at key stages 3 and 4.

Was this page useful? 
Last updated: 14 Mar 2017