You are currently not logged in. Login here

Get the Adobe Reader (Opens in a new window)

Teacher standards

On this page:

Teacher standards

From 1 September 2012 new regulations came into effect with regard to teacher standards. From this date there is just one set of teacher standards. The  teachers standards (pdf) consist of two parts:

Visit the DfE website for the complete teachers standards document (DfE website). There are also three usefull teacher standard fact sheets.

The standards will apply to all teachers regardless of their career stage. All teachers who have successfully completed induction will be assessed against the standards as part of the appraisal process.

In addition all trainee teachers will be assessed against the standards and all NQTs will be assessed (in a different context to trainee teachers) against the standards at the end of their induction.


Post threshold teacher standards

Post threshold standards will only apply to teachers who reached M6 on 1 September 2012 and for whom moving to or progression within decisions will be made by 31 October 2013.  These will be replaced by a new simpler criteria determined in your schools' pay policy.

Teachers who intend to apply in round 13 (final round using current standards) for threshold will be assessed against the post threshold standards, based solely on the outcomes of their last two performance reviews/appraisals which must demonstrate evidence of having met all 10 of the post threshold standards. As such teachers paid on scales M5 and M6 need to take into consideration the collection of relevant evidence, if they wish to be considered (within a two year period) for post threshold assessment.

Please visit the DfE website for post threshold teacher standards (DfE website) and the appraisal page on EGfL.


Professional standards for headteachers

National College for School Leadership (NCSL) website provides information and resources on the National Standards for headteachers. These standards provide a framework for the role of headteacher. Set out in six, interdependent areas, the standards identify the knowledge requirements and professional qualities headteachers need to bring to the role.