School effectiveness

Primary curriculum

Information and links on the new and current curriculum for all key stages:
New national curriculum (GOV.UK)

An overview of the schools curriculum, types of schools that need to follow this and those that don't, key stages and assessments:
The national curriculum (GOV.UK)

Information, resources and links on the current and new primary national curriculum:
Primary national curriculum (GOV.UK).

Primary curriculum subjects and assessments:
The national curriculum - key stages one (KS1) and two (KS2) (GOV.UK)

From September 2015, the new national curriculum for English, mathematics and science came into force for years two and six and new tests are now available:
KS1 and 2 sample tests and materials (GOV.UK)


Ealing CPD

Ealing offers networks and training sessions to support schools with understanding and implementing the national curriculum.

Further information is available on Ealing CPD online.

Consultancy and support

Ealing LA offers a range of services to support primary schools. See related services below.


Further information on end of KS1 and 2 assessment available on the data collection section on the EGfL:
End of key stage assessments data collection

Curriculum subjects

Compulsory national curriculum subjects at primary school (KS1 and 2) are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Physical education (PE)
  • Computing
  • Languages (KS2 only)
  • Sex education
  • Religious education.

Was this page useful? 
Last updated: 14 Sep 2017